Packing for Denmark

Our trip to Denmark is still a little over two weeks away, but that doesn’t mean we’re not already preparing! I was talking about our trip with a friend the other day and mentioned that I had started packing. (I didn’t tell her that I’d already done a trial run a few weeks earlier to see how much space I would use in my suitcase!) She laughed and said that she’s the opposite and usually just throws things in a bag the day that she leaves.

Me, on the other hand, I have lists and stuff set aside (and already packed!) weeks in advance!

We’re lucky that our flat in Copenhagen has a washer and dryer, so we don’t necessarily need to pack a ton of stuff. That will make our suitcases a little lighter, and hopefully, leave room for souvenirs!

Tommy and I plan on packing 4 or 5 outfits for our two week trip. I intend to do some mixing and matching and there’s always laundry. The Copenhagen weather forecast, even though we’re still a couple weeks out, looks like it’ll be lows in the 30s and 40s with highs in the mid-50s. Here’s a list of what I plan on packing already have packed.

Jeans x 2
Sweaters x 4
Short-sleeved t-shirts x 2
Pajamas x 2
Underwear x 6
Bra x 2
Socks x 4
Tieks x 2

I rolled all of my clothes and was able to fit everything into a large packing cube, which only took up about a quarter of my suitcase! On the plane, I’ll be wearing black leggings, a long-sleeved t-shirt, a heavy coatigan, sneakers, and socks, so that’ll be another outfit.

#ToddlerGoodwin’s clothes were another story. I recently discovered that Ziploc makes TWO-GALLON storage bags. I bought a box and used a couple to pack his toys, treats, and snacks for the plane trip. Then I decided, rather than using a packing cube, to use those bags to pack his clothes. I was able to roll up 4 pairs of his pants and 4 long sleeved shirts, fit them into a bag, and then squish all the air out of the bag so that I have a thin, almost flat package of his clothes with 4 outfits! I dud do two more bags like that for him; one with another 3 pairs of jeans and 6 long sleeved shirts and another with pajamas, 4 short sleeved shirts,  and 3 sweaters.

In addition to our clothes, I packed a 2-gallon Ziploc of little toys and activities for the plane ride BACK HOME at the end of the month, our toiletry case, and some snacks. I still have about half a suitcase left, plus all of the pockets… Hmm… What else do we need to take with us?

suitcase2

Suitcases: Skyway
Packing cubes: Tour Pal and Ziploc two gallon bags

Are you a travel blogger? Leave your website below in the comments so we can stop by and visit! Interested in sharing your experiences with us on our blog? Leave us a note here!

Want more kid-friendly travel tips? Check out my Toddler Travel Pinterest Board!

One comment

  1. I’m somewhere in the middle. Too much time, and I overthink and pack too much. Not enough, I forget to pack something critical. This is the first time I threw caution to the wind and packed yesterday with no lists…our reunion in a month or so will be nothing if not delicious. Can’t wait to compare adventure stories. Love you Goodwins!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

