That time we went to Key West…

I mentioned in my California post that we bought a bottle of Jordan wine for my brother and sister-in-law’s 15th wedding anniversary in September 2014. We decided to meet them in Key West to celebrate with them. They rented a little bungalow just off of Duval Street, and it had two bedrooms, so they figured why not see if we’d join them?

Tommy and I planned a Rum & Reggae snorkeling trip for the four of as part of the celebration. I couldn’t wait to get my hands on a frozen, dark chocolate-covered slice of Key Lime Pie. I’d been to Sloppy Joe’s, but my brother swore I had to try the Hog Snort at the Hog’s Breath. They had gotten there a day ahead of us, and found a place that made a kickass Key Lime martini – I couldn’t wait to try one!

I’d been to Key West before, but Tommy hadn’t, so I was excited to visit with him.

Our flight left early on a Friday, so we were up around 5 a.m. to head to the airport. Tommy went downstairs to make some coffee, and I started getting ready. I don’t know why, but I decided to take a pregnancy test. We’d been trying to conceive all summer, and I hadn’t had a single symptom or sign, but I just felt like before going down to Key West and drinking myself silly, it might be a good idea to make sure I wasn’t pregnant.

What I didn’t expect was that, while I was washing my hands, I’d watch the pregnancy test turn positive right before my eyes!!!! I ran downstairs to tell Tommy, except that I couldn’t find the words to say anything. He handed me my coffee, and I handed him the pregnancy test!

We were excited, overjoyed, THRILLED!

Then realized that we were about to head to Key West where my brother was already planning to take us to get a round of Key Lime martinis as soon as we landed.

They say you’re not supposed to tell anyone you’re pregnant until you’re, like, twelve weeks along. What was I supposed to do? How would I explain suddenly not drinking? How was I supposed to keep that a secret?! We were bringing them a bottle of wine that we’d bought especially for the occasion and I didn’t want to have any!

We went to the place with the Key Lime martinis. I pretended that I didn’t know what I wanted to drink and put off ordering a round. We made conversation and caught up and by the time my brother and sister-in-law were ready to order a second round, I had to tell them. We’d known that I was pregnant for about eight hours and we were already spilling the beans!

They were excited for us, and it turned out that my sister-in-law was trying to get pregnant, too! So we had lots of notes to compare, and I knew our secret was safe with them.

I couldn’t go crazy drinking, (and Tommy refused to indulge the whole 9 months I was pregnant!) but we had a really, really good meal at Firefly and had huge ice cream cones at Kilwin’s.

I wish I could say that our Rum & Reggae snorkeling trip was a ton of fun, but… I didn’t have any rum and I went snorkeling long enough for me to jump off the boat into the water and swim around to the ladder at the back. There were SO MANY JELLYFISH in the water, that there was no way I was hanging out for long. I’m not sure if my sister-in-law even got in. My brother was the bravest and actually swam around checking things out. On our way back to the dock, it was like we’d run into “The Perfect Storm.” It got so dark, windy, and rainy that it was a little scary.

We of course made stops at the Southernmost Point and popped in and out of shops and bars all up and down Duval Street. We watched the sun go down at Mallory Square and took a lot of pictures.

It was a quick visit, and for us, there was no alcohol involved, but we still had a fun time!

KEY WEST
EAT: Firefly
DO: Fury Water Adventures, pet the cats at Hemingway’s house

 

 

Leave a Reply

